That Completely Random Guy: On Humpty Dumpty

Humpty Dumpty Interactive Book

Dear Concerned Fellow Man,

I wonder how Humpty Dumpty felt about the whole matter. I mean, how come we never hear his side of the story? That’s what I want to know.

I think too much attention is paid to ‘all the king’s horses and all the king’s men,’ but really what did they contribute to the whole ordeal and, quite honestly, who do they think they are, anyway? Just because they work for the ‘king’ that all of a sudden entitles them to be the pre-imminent scholars on putting Humpties back together with Dumpties?

I have a feeling it’s more complicated than it sounds. It was all just a publicity stunt if you ask me (which you should, I would be just the person to know). I was never convinced they had all that much interest in poor old Humpty Dumpty and whether or not he ever became whole again.

I guess what I’m really trying to say is that we should consider the old chap’s feelings in all this. There’s hardly any respect paid to the deep psychological trauma that undoubtedly must have been inflicted on poor hapless HD (as he’s known around the crib). Show a little sensitivity, it’s not everyday a guy falls off a wall and finds out that he’ll never be whole again simply because some king hadn’t the heart to get a real doctor to fix him up all proper but instead simply sent the first bunch of incompetent ne’er-do-wells he could find.

Sincerely,

That Completely Random Guy

Standard

Leave a comment